Currency - Mauritian rupee

Mauritius, officially known as the Republic of Mauritius, is an island nation located off the southeast coast of the African continent in the Indian Ocean. It is a volcanic island of lagoons and palm-fringed beaches with coral reefs surrounding most of the coastline. Mauritius was uninhabited until 1598, and had much unique wildlife and plant life. There were Dutch settlers from 1638 until 1710. The island was captured by the British in 1810, during the Anglo–French war, and renamed Mauritius. Mauritius has 60% hindu population and was one of the biggest colonies of British Era Rule.


Mauritius is an island of Africa's southeast coast located in the Indian Ocean, east of Madagascar.


20°C to 25°C

Famous For

Mauritius is perhaps best known for its wonderful white beaches.
The island boasts over 150 km of beaches around its shoreline.


Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam International Airport (MRU / FIMP)